Englishman in the Balkans

By BalkansDavid

Dan Žena - International Women's Day

I have to say, that I can't really recall, growing up in the UK in the 50's and 60's, about there having been a "Women's Day" celebrated in the annual Calendar.

For context, I arrived in Banja Luka, Bosnia and Herzegovina, on 16 September 1998.

So it was a surprise on the 8th March 1999, as I arrived in the office, I was told that I needed to bring in flowers and other nice presents for my female colleagues, co-workers and friends.

International Women's Day has been celebrated Internationally since 1975, but here in the former Jugoslavija and the newer republic's that are today, it's been a big issue for a lot longer. A lot longer.

In Yugoslavia, this holiday used to be very popular and important. Big and festive celebrations were held all over the country during the era of Communism.

The 8th March is still very very much celebrated and flowers and little presents are given to mothers, sisters, female colleagues and teachers in school.

As I said, it's a BIG thing, and an early lesson for me in the cultural awareness of my adopted area I call home.

Today's pic is of a poster from, I think, the late 1940's for Dan Žena (Ladies Day).

Sretan Dan Žena!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.