stujphoto

By stujphoto

Rose Street Art Panels

Yesterday prior to meeting my son for lunch in town, I stumbled across some art works that I had never seen before. They were at the west end of Rose Street where I rarely walk and on the front of a building that appeared to belong to British Telecom though the door looked very firmly shut. 

Through the internet I eventually found out what they were. This end of Rose Street with all its inns and public houses used to be where the poets and writers used to frequent in the 1950 and 60s and the illustrations are by Astrid Jaekel, who was the artist in residence at Edinburgh University in 2013. They illustrate George Mackay Brown's poem, Beachcomber and were commissioned by Essential Edinburgh as part of the Rose Street Project to reinvigorate this part of the city centre. 

The BT building is an automated telephone exchange so there was no wonder there was little sign of life there. very attractive and well worth seeking out if you have never seen them.

I've included an extra and one of the other panels

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.