stujphoto

By stujphoto

Tiny Tuesday - Lens Circuitry

A couple weeks back I mentioned that I had a defunct camera and lens on my desk, which I intended to strip down after their brief encounter with salt water. I have not got any further with the camera as one of the tiny screws has been totally resistant to my attempts to unscrew it. However, I have made some progress with the lens starting at the back end. The first thing I encountered was a small circular circuit board with fits around the optics. There are no fewer than 8 connectors which clip into the board carrying as many as 66 separate circuits. One of them which I assume must connect to the power unit has as many as 20 connectors on it. So when you are auto focusing and image stabilising just remember how much circuitry goes into accomplishing these tasks. I have shown a couple of shots of tiny parts of the circuit board taken with my digital microscope, just to illustrate the complexity of the electrics. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.