Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Tower Bridge

I gad another parents arts society event today - a guided tour around the Tower of London with a Blue Badge guide. I haven't been to the tower since the boys were little and I was looking forward to the outing, but it was spoilt by the cold. Most of the tour was outside, and the 40km/hour wind was absolutely freezing cold. I was so cold I could not concentrate on what the guide was saying, and felt like going home. When we entered the room housing those magnificent crown jewels we hovered for as long as we could to try and warm up! 

One has to admit the Tower is an amazing fortress. Rudolf Hess, the deputy leader of the Nazi Party, was the last state prisoner to be held in the Tower, in May 1941. Josef Jakobs, a German spy, and the last person to be executed there on 15 August 1941. The Kray twins, were the last people to be held, for a few days in 1952, for failing to report for national service. It was also quite poignant seeing where Anne Boleyn was executed, today being International Women's day.

I took this photo of Tower Bridge as I was leaving - I have added an extra of a yeoman. I was very pleased to be back home again, in my warm house, shortly after lunch time. 

In other news the sellers finally came to inspect all the problems we have recently experienced at the house - they are going to fix all the problems at their cost, and much of it is covered under the 10 year home warranty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.