SueScape

By SueScape

Pope Joan

I know I'm back in Sussex when I can pop in and see one of Philip Jackson's wonderful works. It was really misty and damp today, and I called in when I was passing the gallery on the A272. These works always cheer me up and leave me smiling.

Here is a detail from Pope Joan, a bronze figure 76inches tall, in the gallery courtyard at the moment. It comes in an edition of 5, two at least are in public open spaces where they deserve to be, to be seen and admired. The hands have it over the face on this particular sculpture, for me, and it has quite a different feel to the Venetian figures I've blipped before. It has quite a - dare I say holy feeling about it, serenity perhaps. You can see the entire figure on my Blipfolio.

Philip Jackson was born in Inverness in 1944, now living and working in West Sussex. He was appointed Commander of the Royal Victorian Order {CVO] in 2009.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.