If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Canada X Greylag Hybrid

We hadn't far to go today, aiming to be in the marina mid afternoon, which was just as well as the weather wasn't being kind.  We had a liesurely start and cruised along through light rain and sleet flurries.  Everybody other than "the mate" and myself were sensibly inside.  Dressed for the weather it really isn't much of the problem being outsidecrewing and steering.

We stopped in Tixal wide for lunch in sunny but windy conditions.  Tixal wide is unusual on the canals in being, as the name suggests wide.  It would seem the landowner at the time the canal was built would only allow its development if it looked like a natural "lake" when seen from the hall.

At the wide I was taking shots of the multitude of Canada Geese.  I took one shot of a trio and the thought passed through my mind "I wonder why that Greylag is hanging about with a pair of Canadas".  It wasn't until I had the shot on the laptop that the situation became clear.  The centre goose is clearly a hybrid.  Going by the beak shape/colour and the position of the white on the flank I suspect a Canada/Greylag hybrid.  So the shot probably shows Mum & Dad with one of last years offspring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.