Kite Highlight

I made a quick visit to Amwell Nature Reserve between my Nursie duties. Lovely weather, I like how the light is catching this red kite.

It being International Women's Day, I was very pleased to see Mr Swan working as hard as Mrs on the construction of their nest. They were breaking off bulrushes and showering themselves with seeds and fluff. One of the cormorant parents was sitting on their nest in the sunshine when the other arrived, landed at a safe distance from it then scrambled up to take its turn at brooding. Pleased that they're sharing parenting duties. I've really warmed to these birds since my cuddle with one recently. 

My granddaughter, our little woman, has been chosen, after an unbelievably rigorous process, as Deputy Head of School. We're so proud. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.