Jado

By Jado

Tegg's Nose

Ever since my knee recovered to the point where I could get out hiking again, I've been trying to do at least one reasonably challenging hike per week.  I missed last week because of the weather, but I did walk miles in Manchester in winter hiking gear, so perhaps that counts ;-)

I wasn't sure if I'd manage to fit a hike in this week either, what with work, being at Victoria Baths Monday, Wednesday and (next) Sunday, Hare Hill on Tuesday and The Lowry yesterday (I stayed at a friend's since the trains back home from Manchester stop a bit too early).

But it worked out - and I got hiking after all.  It is a walk I have done many, many times but it about the closest hilly walk to where I live.

There were loads of trees down all over Macclesfield Forest as a consequence of the wind last Wednesday & Thursday.  I got talking to a couple of rangers (by inadvertently not realising that a  path had been closed for safety reasons; see extra) and they were saying that they had never seen anything like it - but the tree damage is very, very localised - Hare Hill isn't that far from Macclesfield and although we had some branches down, all the tress stayed upright.  I'm sure that forest will recover, but it is going to take some time.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.