Banded dotterel......

......am I to follow or is this little juvenile being coy, either way I thought he/she was rather cute.

Banded dotterels are widespread on coasts and rivers throughout New Zealand. They're small and chubby, can run and fly at speed and their calls are penetrating, especially when warning intruders at nest sites. They like to feed on sandy mudflats and estuaries where they find crustaceans, molluscs, marine words and flies. Along stony riverbeds they feed on mayflies. They're abundant, protected and endemic. 

Saturday.....lovely day for a wander along the estuary, pleasant in the sun with a slight breeze.

Thank you for the fav's, stars and such lovely words left over the last few days, I'm feeling chuffed. I hope to thank you all over the weekend but in the meantime please take this as a thank you until I can stop by your journal :))

Hope you're all having a wonderful weekend :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.