Breaking Perfect Symmetry

Today has been something of a mirror image of yesterday, the flattest neutral cloud cover and grey drab light throughout, completely uninspiring in every respect. Similarly up and down with work, leaving late with a fair bit achieved and no idea what to blip from just a couple of shots. And on the walk to the station I again come up with an idea and manage to execute it before the train pulls in at Ilkley. Result!

I'm finding it very hard to just leave any image alone at the moment. I feel this need to put my stamp on it in some way. I think I succeeded with yesterday's shot but perhaps almost too well! I suspect some of you thought that was for real ... until I changed the title. But, then, perhaps the joke was on me? Who is prepared to admit taking it at face value?

When presenting something as surreal there is a thin line between getting it right and wrong. Too far one way and it simply looks fake and the perceiving mind rejects it. Too far the other way and it simply looks real and the perceiving mind accepts it too readily. I'm looking for that elusive middle ground where the mind is engaged because it's not really obvious as what it is that you are actually seeing ... or missing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.