*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

That’s the real trouble with the world

“That’s the real trouble with the world, too many people grow up. They forget.”
~Walt Disney~

Luckily I'm not one of those people.

I'm actually not a big fan of Disney to be honest. I don't think I ever forgave him for what he did to Alice but that's by the by.

These pictures are from a Disney book that I loved, and I mean obsessively loved, when I was a child. I never read the words as they were all twee and crap and usually ended, "And they lived happily ever after." *retch*

The book belonged to my cousins and whenever we went to their house to stay I would spend hours (and hours and hours) looking at the pictures. It was one of those books that stayed with me for some reason but as an adult I never knew what the book was. Anyway, the other day I was looking for something else on the internet (another book I loved, "The Snow Queen" illustrated by Errol Le Cain *sigh*) and randomly came across the picture at the bottom. My heart stopped for a moment because I knew that house so well that it felt like I'd actually been there. I loved it, it was my dream house where I wanted to live when I grew up (well, it was a toss up between that house and the one above). I then found out what the book was and found a copy on Amazon Sellers. It arrived in the post today. It's from 1965 and in fantastic condition. Whoever it belonged to obviously didn't love it as much as I did!

I added the picture of Maleficent too because... well, it's Maleficent (what's not to love/hate?!) and it was one of my favourite pictures in the entire book. The house, the colours, the wallpaper, the raven, the little monster thing that you don't notice straight away... it's just perfect. 

P.S. I still would love to live in either of these houses, despite the obvious spider implications with both of them! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.