Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

What do you think?

Apparently there is the prospect of blood rain in the South East of England this week, a phenomenon going back thousands of years and attributable to everything from desert sand swirled up into the atmosphere, right down to micro-organisms and even meteorites. Science can now explain these things. But in ancient times they were portentous and the only possible explanations were mystical ones. Having said that Pliny said it was the act of the gods but Cicero said it was just something earthly caught in the atmosphere, so there have always been debates about the rational versus the supernatural.

Anything can be interpreted in at least one of two ways. It's what it makes you think that matters. There was the case of the disgruntled footballer who said to the referee "if I call you an arse will you send me off?" to which the referee replied "of course". Then the footballer said "if I think you're an arse will you send me off?"

"Well" said the ref "I can't do anything about what you think, can I?"

"Okay" said the footballer "in that case - I think you're an arse".

I think I might wear a hat later in the week, as I don't want to end up as a redhead. Whether it's mystical or rational, blood rain is blood rain ...

Tired due to broken sleep last night. Major incident training also exhausted me - 87 power point slides is too much at my age. I cut my millionaires shortbread up and shared it with the other fifteen participants, and one person was so chuffed she bought me a packet of Sainsburys Halloween brownies later. Another colleague bought me a really creamy yoghurt off the sandwich van. How nice is that? I love it when people do nice little things for each other.

Went out with a friend after work and had a meal and a good chin wag. Really nice. Lots to talk about. Came home to find TSM on the sofa in full on Lady Madonna of the Cats mode. Nothing like felix domesticus and someone you love to put a smile on your face ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.