NOT how I learnt it. . . .

Had a decko around t'internet, found this:-

"The Spring is Sprung Rhyme by Anonymous (Not Ogden Nash)
The spring is sprung, the grass is riz.
I wonder where the boidie is.
They say the boidie’s on the wing.
But that’s absoid. The wing is on the bird"
* ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ * ~ *
Way, WAY back in the hists of Mistory, "when Ah waz a lad", so far as I recall, it went:-
"De Spring is sprung, de grass is riz.
I wonder where de boidies is?"
De boidies dey is on de wing.
Now dat's absoid, I thought de wing was on de boid."

Whichever way you look at it; we have zero snow,
white fluffy clouds, a, relatively mild 12.5˚C
and an abundance of Snowdrops, Leucojums, Hellebores and "Crocmees" (Whereby hangs a tale. Which I may or not have recount. Probably have, knowing me).
"NO Brian, you do NOT say 'Give us it.' you say give ME it."
"Yes Mam."
MUCH later - 
"Mam, the crocmees are in flower."
"Why are you calling crocuses crocmees?"
"Well Mam, you said we hadn't say "US"."
They've been crocmees ever since.
Same bloke who once said  - - - "Can't say Jamamia, too hard a word."
= the new name for Geraniums, OK clever fellah we KNOW they're Pelargoniums, but lots of folk don't.

;¬)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.