Tha path home.

Do you remember the days when walking boots were not reliably waterproof. Thank goodness textile technology has advanced so far.

My walk this morning proved to be rather exciting, although I am not sure that seemed to be the right term at the time.

I had already waded along this path coming away from the village and my plan was to cross Arnside Moss in search of a blip which I had in mind.
I have crossed it many times. But today it was very wet. With dry ground just ten yards away my foot went deeper into the squelsh than I expected. In trying to pull my right boot out I put pressure on my left foot.
The result was I found myself down on my knees in the bog. For some minutes I was unable to stand up. The only answer was to crawl across some yards, using my Pacer Poles horizontally to spread the pressure, and reach a patch of solid ground where rushes were growing. On that I was able to stand up.

Retreat was the best option. Back across the field and along the path above to the road and then home. I met no one on the way which given the state of my clothing was just as well.
Sneaked in the back door and got everything into the washing machine.

Blipping has its moment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.