Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Mothering Sunday

It was a late evening last night, as our friends live about an hour away so by the time we got home from the dinner it was 1am. I did not get up too late, and as it was a lovely sunny day and for the first time felt quite spring-like, I decided to go for a run outside (in winter I usually run on a treadmill). It was the perfect start to the day, the fresh air cleared my head and I felt good.

I got phone calls from Adam and Luke for Mothering Sunday - poor Adam is feeling ill but he had to play in his college rugby match today. Luke's girlfriend is visiting him in Berlin so they have had a lovely weekend sight seeing and enjoying the spring weather in Berlin.

We went out for lunch to celebrate Mothering Sunday - Thomas drove us there and back, and I was impressed by his driving. Usually I am a very nervous passenger but I actually felt quite relaxed. He drove a long distance with Gavin yesterday to practice traffic circles and the other traffic hazards, and this morning before we went out to lunch he had another lesson with the driving school, so he is coming along nicely. Here is a photo of us to mark the occasion! It was a bit breezy standing there and my hair looks very messy.

I am now starting to think about my trip to Northumberland next week - it's a two day photography workshop with Lee Frost (who ran the Venice workshop I attended). It's still very cold there and as we will be working up and down the coast on the exposed beaches photos I must choose suitable clothing that will keep me warm and dry. Gavin is coming with as it's a chance for him to see the area as it is somewhere we have always wanted to visit - although he won't be out with us all day and knowing him he will be working most of the day. He was hoping to do some long runs on the beaches for his marathon training but he has a hamstring injury at the moment so cannot run.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.