A slice of Lesley's life

By Lesley

Happy Mothers’ Day

To say this Mothers’ Day has topped the chart of the last 4 would be an understatement. By way of contextual contrast in the running have been days when J hasn’t been able to write his name on a card.

Today started well with both of them bursting in to wake me up with funny cards and thoughtful presents. And then some perfect bickering and fighting.

Met our friends for brunch at a Portuguese restaurant that has excellent food and even better coffee. A lot of nonsense was talked. Jackson and Cam headed off for a go-karting party. Carl and I walked the most sociable dog in Chiswick so she could do the rounds of greeting all her people. She’d get elected as Mayor if we let her.

Home for a very quick lunch before Anna and I headed to the cinema to watch the very, very funny Jumanji. I can’t actually remember the last time I laughed that much in the cinema.

Meanwhile Carl was at home cooking up a roast beef feast complete with his first ever attempt at Yorkshires and coercing his young assistant into setting the table.

Dinner done there is an evening ahead with a glass of wine and one of my new books (not the one that claims on the front cover to make me cry; thanks Jackson).

I am beyond grateful for so many people and things today and I’m not sure it could have been bettered.

Lesley x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.