tomhutts

By tomhutts

Settling

I’m feeling more comfortable in Berlin with every passing day. Whether it’s managing the pronunciation of Warschauer Straße (my local train stop) or glaring at disruptive tourists, I’m slowly living like a local.

Today Lara, Anna, and I had a fry up before going to a local church. It was held in a cinema complex, so that was a new experience.
We then went for a quick bite to eat and a coffee before heading to the Reichstag dome. This is a fairly generic image of the inside of the dome, but pretty nonetheless. We cluelessly climbed up the wrong walkway (we went up the one meant for descent) wondering why we were being glared at.
We arrived at the top slightly out of breath and warm. Lara and I laid at the top and closed our eyes. She attempted to say some soothing words to help the meditation vibe, but only succeeded in making me laugh loudly. To help visualise this better take a look at Anna’s Instagram (@anna_wallace_reid). She owes me a drink for that promo.

The sun was still strong in the sky, so we headed back and had some drinks in the local plaza. There were kids roller skating while their parents were having a beer a few meters away. I love how relaxed everyone is over here. It’s very refreshing.

We headed back towards our flat, stopped off at a cheap and cheerful donner place for some dinner and proceeded to gorge.
Now here I am, on FaceTime to Callum and writing this out. I’ve only been here for five days. I’m hoping the next five months are just as action packed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.