At Your Service

LARGER.

By the car park at my Tuesday morning school is this tree - which I believe to be a Wild Service Tree (Sorbus torminalis). At present it's displaying stunning autumn foliage. I couldn't resist blipping it today.

There was much hilarity at work this afternoon. My friend and team-mate Jackie (same name, different spelling) returned today from 2 weeks holiday. At lunchtime she bought us a large sponge cake, topped with butter-cream icing and shredded coconut. As she sat with a slice in hand, she commented that she'd always wanted to splodge a slice of cake in someone's face, the way clowns do. Rob laughingly said 'Go on then' and presented his chin to her. She said "Really?", he laughed and replied "Nah, you wouldn't really" - he shouldn't have said that! lol . By the time I grabbed my camera from my bag and switched it on Rob had eaten most of the cake, but I managed to get a shot, whilst still falling about laughing. This was the result!

Good news at last - yesterday afternoon we were all in a meeting for 2 and 1/2 hours . It turns out that after decisions have been made on those who qualified for and requested voluntary early retirement, and those who'd applied for voluntary redundancy packages, the final result is that there will be 2 more vacancies than there will be people whose current positions are being eradicated. Which means that there'll be no need for compulsory redundancies, even if a few will have to move into different roles. There were multiple sighs of relief as that was announced!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.