Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Fazal Sheikh speaks

Sue and I went to Fazal Sheikh's public lecture at the Portland Art Museum. I wrote about his exhibit in this blip, which includes links to his work and also a link to a video of him speaking. He is as moving in person as we expected him to be--deeply humble, not encumbered by a need to glorify himself but instead motivated by the desire to pay tribute to the people who appear in his photographs. 

I love the portait of him on the poster: his humilty, his simplicity, his strength; the pose--squatting on the edge of a sidewalk somewhere in the world. Soon after I took this photograph of the poster in the lobby of the museum, someone came by to remove it, and I asked if I could have it. She gave it to me, and I am going to frame it. He inspires me. He has done exactly what I would have liked to be able to do, had my own life been different.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.