The Speed of Light

By MartyMcG

University Challenge

Today I had a wonderful experience - I was given access to the tower of the University of Glasgow. My friend Lindsey has worked at the university for a number of years but is moving on to pastures new soon. Today was my (one and only) chance to climb the 225 spiral steps leading to the top of one of the most iconic landmarks in Glasgow. This is my favourite building in the city so it was a huge privilege for me today. At the top, the grey weather did nothing to diminish the vibrant autumn colours of Kelvingrove Park or the amazing panoramic views of Glasgow.

I took a number of interesting photographs: telephoto shots of The Hydro & Armadillo, panoramic views of Kelvingrove Park, and wide angle shots of Kelvingrove Museum. I liked this one of the inner quadrangles of the University. I had to take four separate shots and stitch them together to get the whole panorama into the image. The unusual angle of the subject and my limited scope for movement up the tower meant that the shot was hugely distorted in a crescent shape but I have managed to warp it out to something resembling a rectangular frame. I love the unusual perspective of the shot, even if it is a bit off centre.

A great experience which made my day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.