Getting late

Funny old day. Drove the car to work this morning as my bike was in for a service. Told this morning that as two others of the Directorate Leadership Team have already arranged leave for the week of the conference I really want to attend, mainly because of its content although being in Iceland was an attraction also, I will not be allowed to take leave for that week. 

Then lots of emails to work through. Over lunch two registrars did case presentations. Very interesting topics. First was methamphetamine psychosis. Second was sexually inappropriate behaviour after severe brain damage. Then met with my director, and encouraged to look at a different setting for the clinical part of my job. Almost made me feel enthusiastic after the disappointment of the morning news.

Then I had a call from the Nissan people to tell me that the replacement glass sunroof had arrived from japan and they can start work tomorrow. Sudden change of plans. Got S to come and collect me as I left it with the dealer to avoid having to struggle there before work tomorrow. She very kindly later dropped me off (in the rain from the cyclone currently hitting Auckland) at the bike shop to collect my bike. Rode home in the wet. Barley managed to reach the pedals as they had put the seat way too high (now adjusted). 

Both daughters joined us for dinner. After which I realised I had no photos today. 

Here is a picture of the clock in my study. The wood is swamp kauri. Kauri trees from an ancient forest have been found submerged and preserved in a swamp. It is beautiful wood, if easily marked because it is rather soft. The wood has been carbon dated as 40,000 years old.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.