Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Thursday

Backblip

I forget how the weather can be, quite a squall throughout most of the day so Portland Art Museum was the good place to be.

We went to look at the Minor White photographs of industry in Portland and Oregon that had been taken for the Works Progress Administration.  Really great pictures but frustratingly bad labeling.

Common Ground, pictured above, was a large and very moving exhibition of Fazal Sheikh's photography.  It was excellent but overwhelming.  The portraits were superb but I found the triptychs of the leveled cities and refugee camps, really showing the scale of things, particularly striking.  All of it intense.

After that I continued on my own and saw the LAIKA exhibit which was some much needed lightness.  I've seen all the LAIKA movies except the most recent, so it was a lot of fun to see the sets and the teeny tiny handmade costumes for all the models.

I had hoped to see Kendall at the International Women's Day march as I knew she would be there documenting but by then I was pretty fried, my feet were starting to go numb and my back aching and it was time to take a break.

A few museum extras.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.