Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Relax

One of the reasons for moving out of Munich's English Garden Hilton was the pretty sparse, dark and dingy pool and fitness area.

The Arabella had much more inviting surroundings, high above the city with windows, a bar and lots of different pools. I don't remember a large swimming pool but Nigel and I weren't heavily into fitness.

I really ought to write nothing and rely on Nigel filling in the events below in the comments section. What I seem to remember is that our first visit was certainly accompanied by good old British prudence.  We would have entered the sauna with towels wrapped around our swimming gear and been confronted by the sight of uncovered skin from head to foot and including all known sexes there are. Not sure how long we stayed covering our beer bellies with shame.

When you have been in Germany (and I guess many such counties especially Scandanavia), you get to realise that nudity is about the most unsexy thing there is. The idea of there being an area of Munich's central park given to the (FKK - Free clothes/body culture) nudists through which hundreds of people including families, pushchairs etc wander on the paths on their way to a beer garden seems alarming to most, especially UK and USA residents.

I must add that "textile free" only applied to the immediate sauna area.

In my time I have been "exposed" (sic), to it in all manner of open public lakes in Bavaria and Mediterranean beaches which seem to be almost exclusively used by continental Europeans. Even in the village where I now live in 2018 with its three or four gravel lakes, one is used by the nudists but it does not preclude the textile people. It's all unofficial and simply taken for granted. I think on the North and Baltic Sea coastline some beaches are equipped with "warning" notices - "You are about to enter..."

Well, we have our own secluded pool at home and don't need the village lakes so don't bother to go out spying. There is in my case anyway, nothing worth the trouble.

I have posted this to this date, a Saturday when we both were probably staying over. At some point Nigel moved out of the hotel in to a serviced apartment a bit further along the inner ring road towards Munich's Zoo. No relevance in that though, well at least not intended.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.