Life through the lens...

By ValC

Cornish hedges.

A much better day, although not a lot of sun, but at least it stayed fine.
After a lie in, and late start we set off to Penzance.
Parked near Newlyn. £1 all day. Ours was the only car in the car park.
It seems that a lot of people would rather park up the streets for free, and don't like to walk into town.
We always start with a walk through the Morrab Gardens.
The house, with its walled garden was built in 1841 for brewer Samuel Pidwell. 
In 1888 the house and garden was bought by Penzance Corporation.
Tenders for the design of the garden was advertised nationally.
The winning prize was £21. Entrants came from all over the country.
 Reginald Upcher, a landscape gardener of Portland Place, London was commissioned to develope the grassy fields sloping down to the sea, into a municipal Park.
It opened in September 1889, with Half day holiday and a procession through the streets.
My Grandfather, ( my mother's dad) was an apprentice gardener here in the mid 1890's.
We got chatting to one of the gardeners today, and he asked if I could send anything I know about my grandfather to their website, as they are trying to put together a book about the gardens history.
Just wish I had asked my mum more when she was alive.
Unfortunately the magnolia flowers were all dead, just one or two camellias still in flower.

Across the road and into the Penlee Gardens, where we had lunch in The Orangery cafe. Their food is always delicious. 
Today Mr C had Spring vegetable soup with a cheese scone.
I had cod fish cakes with tarter sauce, coleslaw, and salad, with a fabulous Blackberry, Cardamon and Chilli dressing..I bought two bottles to bring home.
After a walk round the town, which looks a bit tired. New galleries opened, but many shops empty. Walked down to the harbour and a look at the fishing boats.
I forgot my camera, so when we got back I had a quick walk down the lane to take some photos of the Cornish hedges.
Nice to see the daffs and primroses out. Makes a bright blip.

Many thanks again for all your kind comments stars and hearts.

RIP Ken Dod. The end of an era. There will never be another like him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.