Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Good Wives and Warriors

In 2014 the BBC asked the artists Good Wives and Warriors to paint a mural for the Commonwealth Games, being held in Glasgow that year.
The above photo shows the result (although one really has to zoom in to see the witty details of some of the artwork).

The artists spoke to local residents and incorporated many of the well-known features of the city, including famous buildings and images, as well as their own 'take' on some of the city's tales and legends.

I didn't even know about this mural until recently, when one of my friends asked me if I'd seen it. I was in Glasgow this afternoon and had some free time, so caught a bus out to Parkhead to see why it came so highly recommended. It's definitely an amazing work of art!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.