Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Millennium

Firstly, thank you so much to so many people who left stars and hearts for yesterday's blip! I am thrilled to share that old picture of my mum with you.

Today has been a very eventful day! It started with me heading to work with G. I mean her work. Normally I drive, but this morning, as I was running a little late, G got into the driver's seat, so for a change, I took the pictures from a moving car!

Managed to get this shot of the buildings on SZR just as you come out of the first tunnel heading South. Extra significant, as after dropping G, I had to visit an office in the extremely tall building on the right (called the Millennium Plaza Tower). An online search put me in touch with a business that repairs any laptop and do a free diagnosis. I was advised not to attempt changing the SD card reader component on the motherboard. As for the scrolling problem with the trackpad; they observed it only happens on websites which had lots of "stories" to load, so nothing to fix there either.

Picked G up to have our shawarmas-by-the-sea lunch, but I think it might be the last time for a while as it is heating up rapidly! On the way back, she suggested we call in at Dubai Mall. She had a picture frame to collect and also wanted me to choose a present which is going to be given to me by a group of friends(?!). I am really keen on a Sony soundbar but the store where we first saw it no longer has an offer on it. It literally finished two days ago. As the Mall has very helpfully placed all the electronics stores in the same area, we were able to walk around and look elsewhere.

Very thrilled to have come home with one but I have to wait to open it! That's going to be hard. For the first time ever, we also looked at Sony digital cameras. I am such a die-hard Nikon and Fujifilm fan, I literally don't look at anything else. Today was an eye opener for both of us thanks to a very animated salesman called Dominic!

Back home, and as I was carrying my new present across the garden, a man who works in one of the businesses' downstairs ran to help me with my oversized package. I was really touched. He is the same person who helped me last Friday when all the canvasses had to be brought back up to the flat.

And in the evening, we went over to our friends for our weekly bible study. It was on Revelation 20 which is about the Millennium. It all linked in at the end!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.