a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Raintown

Mono Monday: Raintown

"It's a rain-dirt-town-job hurts, but it don't pay
All these calls they're making me and driving you insane
Don't you see don't you understand
Waiting for the phone to ring to make me all I am
You're in the suburbs waiting for somewhere to go
I'm down here working on some dumb show

In a raintown raintown rain down
On all those tired eyes and tears and frowns
In a raintown raintown rain down
On all those days you're not around

It takes a big hearted girl from the north country you can tell
How you payed those bills and went through heaven and hell
And you you cried and you travelled and you spat but you never asked
Well how long how long how long is this pain
You're on for three minutes trying hard to say "hello"
I'm down here working on some dumb show

In a raintown raintown rain down
On all those tired eyes and tears and frowns
In a raintown raintown rain down
On all those days you're not around

Sitting at home listening to your radio
Listening for your old friend talking on some dumb show

In a raintown raintown rain down
On all those tired eyes and tears and frowns
In a raintown raintown rain down
On all those days you're not around"

Deacon Blue ~ Raintown

Back in 1987, Cathy was expecting James our first child.  Deacon Blue released their Raintown album in the early Summer and I think that I bought it in early September a few weeks before James was born.  The album featured a lot in our musical listening over the next months and for Cathy in particular its sound is nextricably linked with James as a small baby.  It is so noticeable how some bits of music can bring back a particular time or feeling.

I've spent nearly all day either in meetings, or on the phone.  The day has not dragged, there's been no time to get bored, but it did mean that there were no opportunities to get out for a blip shot during daylight hours.  This shot ended up being taken on my way home, in the dark and the rain.  I'm standing holding an umbrella high in the air above me, to keep the rain off my camera lens whilst trying to hold the camera still enough to get this shot in the dark.  Not a bad effort for a handheld one handed shot if I do say so myself :-)

Many thanks to Nickimags888 for hosting this month's Mono Monday challenges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.