Mono Monday: Week 216 .......

... Building(s) .... Nest Building

For the past couple of years we have had this Chickadee nesting box up that Richard made.  And every year since putting it up we have been fortunate enough to have the Chickadees lay their eggs and raise their chicks in it!

As I was setting up the Nut Shop building (see extra!) for my potential MM blip I noticed this Chickadee going in and out of the nesting box. I immediately went back in the house to get my camera .... as any good blipper would do!

I took this picture from about 20 feet away and then tried to get closer.  Unfortunately, that freaked out little Chickadee and he stopped going in! But I'm sure that as soon as I went back in the house he was back at it.  We read that if you put saw dust in the box the male chickadee will excavate it out to make it ready for the nesting material. 

So this Black-capped Chickadee building his nest is my MM blip for today! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.