Tiny Tuesday .....

..... Jacobsburg State Park Chipmunk!

I had to do some shopping today that brought me about five minutes from the Plainfield Rail Trail.  So after finishing up my errands I took the short drive up there to see if any of the chipmunks would be out.  It was quite cold and windy so I wasn't surprised when none popped out of their burrows. 

Jacobsburg State Park is only about five minutes from the rail trail so I decided to go there after spending some time watching for the chippies. I immediately went to the bird blind and frog pond area ... even though I knew that the frogs wouldn't be up yet because the pond is still snow covered.  I just hope they don't surface too early this year like they did a couple of years ago.  They surfaced too soon and then we had a major snow storm that killed a bunch of them.  :-(

The bird blind was quiet when I first arrived but after a while the birds started coming around.  I was photographing what I thought was a chipping sparrow but as it turns out is actually an American Tree sparrow .... see extra.  I can't remember ever seeing one of these birds so this is a first for me!

And .... as I was photographing all the birds this tiny chipmunk made an appearance!!!! Yay! This is the first chippy that I have seen this month and I couldn't have been more excited to see him/her! 

I'm tagging this for Tiny Tuesday even though it's not a macro ... sorry Debbi! But I think he/she qualifies as tiny .... and I know you love these little guys as much as I do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.