Topsyturvy

By Topsyturvy

Ford every stream, climb every mountain

More rain yesterday and the ground can't hold any more (it's been super-saturated for weeks). This particular lane has 2 fords and a large wash of water with a massive drain the other side of the road (an unofficial ford, I suppose). Plus, for added interest, a drive past a farmyard where cows are kept indoors and all the farm machinery is kept on the opposite side of the lane; much mud distribution results. I have resigned myself to the fact that never, ever will I have a pristine red car ever again beyond the house drive.

It's a well-used route and the site of a Roman road, so despite a couple of slight kinks it's a good way out to Church Stretton. I took Poppydog up to the hills (not really 'mountains' as such!) again this morning and it was just wonderful to feel the sun on the skin and a slight warmth (slight!). The wild ponies were out in force (extra of a youngster approaching in a gentle fashion to see if apples might be around) and a posse of working cockers - they were having a terrific romp.

As usual, I was on a deadline. Back have a chat with a garden designer who I really hope can work some sort of magic (which is why I've asked for help). We need this place to look after itself with as little fuss as possible and I'm time short to organise this myself; yet another season would slip by ...

LH returned from golf an extremely happy chappie having won this morning. (He wanted to check that I mentioned I was married to a "star golfer" - shame his winnings were only a few quid!).

We need to tackle the 'Vera' backlog tonight; no sewing then - I'll have to concentrate!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.