Grimspound

I went off to Grimspound this morning, it's way out the back of beyond past Widecombe-in-the-Moor and on down narrow lanes. It was a lovely day and although I wouldn't say it was warm it was nice to be out there. The site was first settled in about 1300 BC. It's a late bronze age settlement, from about 1300 BC. There are 24 hut circles surrounded by a granite perimeter wall, which probably stood 1.7 metres tall. 


My blip was taken on the way up to Grimspound. This little stream winds its way down beside the path, rushing over rocks and through rushes on the way. I like the hawthorn tree standing beside it and that's the perimeter wall of the compound on the skyline . I've put an album of today's shots here if you'd like to see them.


It's an interesting place set below Hookney Tor on one side and Hameldown Tor on the other. I think Houndtor village is more attractive with all the huts clothed by heather but as they're completely different time periods I don't suppose it's right to compare them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.