Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A city walk

Gym✔️
Bike✖️
Steps 5,394

Although I didn’t go on the bike, I did do quite a big walk with Archie instead. A new walk. And it's a goodie!

I read that they were re-assembling the Ross Fountain. It used to upset me how such a wonderful fountain had been left to go to wrack and ruin. In fact, I went to meet the man in charge of fountains, who was just as upset as I was. But now, it has been dismantled, taken away, fixed up and will be put back together again. Also, the whole ground hadn’t been prepared properly and was sinking under the weight and leakage. At the moment the new concrete footings are almost in place. Good news indeed.

We walked on through the Gardens, and then crossed the railway bridge (Archie watched a train going under him) and climbed the steps up the side of the castle. The one o’clock gun went off, giving both of us a fright!

Archie had a great time, and I had some good views of the city. The whole bank is covered in daffodils, which aren’t out yet, of course, so I’ll be doing that walk again when they're out.

I met a woman with a big friendly dog and we had a chat. She loves this walk, and comes here often, and is pleased that not many folk use it.

We then walked up the Mound, passed over the Royal Mile, where we bumped into these two likely lads. Actually, three likely lads, with one trying to get in on the act behind. They were happy to pose with Archie.

I didn’t even consider taking the bus home, but I did need a sit down before continuing over the Meadows. We popped in to a dog friendly cafe, where the music was great - oldies that I actually recognised. A nearby chap kept looking over and smiling, and when we left he said, 'Cute'. I think he meant Archie.

Revived by a good flat white, we continued on over the Meadows. What a good walk for both of us.

Meanwhile, JR was still in spring tidying/clearing out/sewing mode.

Next time, I might do that walk in reverse (no, FP, not me walking backwards) and end up at Brew Dog for a beer. And some chips. Soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.