Snowdrops at Stowe

Eight years ago on Miss L's first Mother's Day we went to Stowe and planted snowdrops. They were building the new visitor centre and cafe and were transplanting loads of bulbs and snowdrops. You could plant them for a pound per bunch so we planted three - for me, Miss E and Miss L. I'm not sure exactly which are ours but there in here somewhere!
I love seeing them every year and remembering when the Little Misses were tiny.
Mum and I met at Stowe this morning for a walk. She brought Elsie but I left Archie at home. I hate walking him for miles on the lead at the best of times and Elsie's in season at the moment so I thought it would tip me over the edge if he was constantly trying to get to her to have his way. Panting and pulling and jumping up and down in frenzied excitement. Uuughhhh!!!
We had such a beautiful walk!
Rather than walk round the lakes as we do with the Little Misses we went up the hill past the Gothic Temple and right round to the old entrance. I haven't been up there for a couple of years and it bought back so many memories of all the time we spent there when the Little Misses with all their friends when they were toddlers. 
The sun came out when we got back down to the lake and it all looked so beautiful in the sunshine. The lake was partly frozen and it all looked sparkly and gorgeous.
When we got the snowdrop glade I explained to Mum how we'd planted some of them and she loved seeing them. She'll think of us whenever she walks there.
Having walked well over five miles we'd more than earnt our delicious mushroom soup in the cafe when we got back up there.
Then it was home to laze around for the afternoon before heading to get Miss L from Origami Club and Miss E from Brownies.
Thai chicken for dinner which was delicious. I haven't made it for ages and it felt like a real treat.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.