2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

the radiant golden star

I have blipped from this (relatively rare) pictured 1981 collection before - it contains a wonderful amalgamation of poems, 'interview-snippets' (with the poets), and various drawings ...

... and so here's another Sorley MacLean verse from within; about a man who's love is on the verge of marrying another, following his decision not to fight in the Spanish Civil War:


The Choice*

I walked with my reason
out beside the sea.
We were together but it was
keeping a little distance from me.

Then it turned saying:
is it true you heard
that your beautiful white love
is getting married early on Monday?

I checked the heart that was rising
in my torn swift breast
and I said: most likely;
why should I lie about it?

How should I think that I would grab
the radiant golden star,
that I would catch it and put it
prudently in my pocket?

I did not take a cross’s death
in the hard extremity of Spain
and how then should I expect
the one new prize of fate?

I followed only a way
that was small, mean, low, dry, lukewarm,
and how then should I meet
the thunderbolt of love?

But if I had the choice again
and stood on that headland,
I would leap from heaven or hell
with a whole spirit and heart.

---

Sorley Maclean (1911 – 1996)

---

* the poem has also been set to music, which you can hear via this link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.