Plus ça change...

By SooB

Orderly

I've found a new plant source. I've been meaning to check it out for a while and today - despite railtrack diversions making it complicated - was the day. I didn't bring any plants home (that's a first) but I'm sure I will bring back several when I collect the cherry tree I just ordered, and which I promised CarbBoy last year.

All this to distract me from the main business of the day. Dreadful night, mostly spent scouring the house for any painkillers that didn't scare me. I'm not convinced that lemsip is a traditional first-line cure for toothache, but I prefer it to the tablets Aunty Betty gave us that make MrB sleep for 18 hours straight.

Constant calls to the dentist yielded only their machine, so I just went in and threw myself on their mercy. Back at noon to be actually seen (obviously in her lunch hour - very kind). I was poked and prodded and scraped in ways that made me think I might faint. Turns out I have no holes in my teeth (hurrah) but have (had) something unspeakable* under my gums which was causing a gross inflamation. It's gone now.

*By unspeakable I mean that I didn't understand what she said, so I don't know the words...

She was so lovely - apologising profusely for all the pain - and gave me a series of prescriptions to take away which she assured me would guarantee a comfortable weekend away (she has the same deal with a bunch of her female friends and was adament that I wasn't going to miss mine!)

Later, lunch was gingerly nibbled, a small amount of gardening happened and then I was driven away by the return of the chainsaw massacre...

So CarbBoy and I (he had come home poorly - just a cold, but he was pretty sick this morning) headed off to deal with shopping, trees, a fine (and very overdue) haircut for him and a very pleasant drink in a bar while we waited for TallGirl.

Must pack...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.