Plus ça change...

By SooB

Civilised

Yes, it's time for the annual civilised and elegant girls weekend.

Here R and I were asked to look stupid.  I think we did a fine job.

Earlier, there had been a small panic when it turned out (2 minutes before I was due to leave the house for the airport, to allow time for a leisurely glass of fizz in the lounge) my passport was somehow not with all the other passports where I always keep it... Happily, I was able to remember the last time I had it (ski hire) and that I had probably not in fact left it with the ski hire man, but had put it in my super-safe ski jacket pocket... And there it was.

So, a more stressed than necessary journey to the airport (no lounge, just walked straight onto the plane) and a very bumpy flight, and the hugeness of Madrid airport to cope with, and finally a bunch of pals appeared from their plane and we were off.

Once the duty-free fizz was suitably chilled, we sat on our apartment balcony (it had several), trying to ignore the snow on the decking behind us, and caught some very welcome rays of sunshine.  Bars, dinner, tomfoolery, bollards, icy wine, and then a very fine decision to try a cocktail bar on the way home.  Very fine indeed.  In fact, some might say it's the best cocktail bar in the world.  Those people would be us, and we were right.

A somewhat late night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.