Context

I don't read as many serious books as I used to, but it could be something I'll come back to now that the type of work I do has changed so much.

Something heavyweight is still good for reading on a plane or on holiday - if when I fall asleep for a few minutes it's a good thing!

I suppose my initial university education taught me to see current events within a wider framework, as opposed to in isolation. For example, to understand the Cuban missile crisis you don't just look at the actions of the participants at the time, but also at the context - the Cold War situation, what Khruschev was doing internally, the USA's historic position in relation to Cuba...

I also learned to be sceptical, and to keep an open mind. That's what I'm doing just now.

One of those books in the Blip is an odd one out. There's no prize for working out which one it is. Working out why it's there might be more of a challenge, but perhaps not.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.