Cr055ie

By Cr055ie

Horncastle Shops

Back in Horncastle today for a 'C Card' and chlamydia screening   training session.  Phil was at home and I am suppose to be on leave, so after the training had finished I took the opportunity to take a little walk around Horncastle.

It struck me that Horncastle has some shops that are family run businesses that may not always be there as the kids that had taken over from their families  are getting older (aren't we all) and their kids have moved on to pastures new not associated with the shops,  So we could loose, Achurch's, Perkins, Robinson's and Stanley's Electrical.  These shops have been around for as long as I have lived in Lincolnshire.  We have already lost so many.   Each time I visit I am going to try and take a photograph of the shops so I can keep my own little historical record of the town I worked in for over 30 years!!!

So my starter for ten is Perkins Newsagents.  Always open at the crack of dawn and always been black and orange for as long as I can remember and the floor has always been bare floorboards.  Just smell that newsprint!!!!    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.