St Hilda's, Danby

The Danby church is in the middle of nowhere and the history books are unsure why it was built here. The most plausible suggestion is that the present village didn't really develop until the coming of the railway but the church was built in a central part of the valley where lots of footpaths from outlying farms and hamlets converged. It appears a church was on this site as early as the 1100's (though not this building.)

This was as far as a got today, which involved a walk of about 3/4 mile down the farm road from the cottage. Rain and fog again today, though by the time I went out the fog had lifted to around 250/300 metres and the rain was fairly light - just enough to wet me!

A late get up for me (I slept until almost 8am - almost unheard of - I've been waking at around 5.30am all week) and then some time spent sketching and exploring ideas based on our cliff top walk of Saturday ... and I finished my novel - which was very compelling at the end. (The sealed letter - Emma Donahue).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.