Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Awesome!

I loved this chap’s t-shirt so much that I was compelled to interrupt him while he was minding his own business - reading a book and eating his lunch - to ask whether I could take his picture. He was most obliging and was a natural in front of the camera!

Later on, I spent the evening at a samba drumming class with our friends at Katumba, who we’ve been supporting to run a ‘drumming for wellbeing’ group called Beat It! They’ll be performing for us at Mad Pride next month and I can’t wait! We got really brilliant feedback from the 30+ participants about the value of the group to them - in terms of confidence-building, self-worth, meeting people they wouldn’t normally have the opportunity to mix with, and restoring people’s faith in humanity after trauma - and then we got to spend an hour of non-stop drumming with them. It was fantastic! And loud. And hot! I was particularly chuffed to be complemented on my drumming skills by the group leader, Juliana, who is a genuine Brazilian samba expert!


There can be only one song to accompany today’s Blip, so here’s ‘Everything Is Awesome’ by Tegan and Sara, complete with dancing Lego Batman! www.youtube.com/watch?v=rRlywVTz08o

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.