Inspired by Ikebana

I was watching a programme about Japan almost two weeks ago in which the presenter took us to a traditional Japanese house. Wonderful design and great craftsmanship from the carpenters. Sliding doors could both close off and open up new rooms.

The house was devoid of decoration save for one alcove which had been painted. On a low shelf stood a minimalist floral decoration, part of the tradition of ikebana. I've been bowled over by this concept. I could never hope to claim that any arrangement I did could be called ikebana but I can try to imitate it from afar. It takes years to learn.

Thinking of the season, I sought out pussy willow on the Hallamford Road on Wednesday. Some hedge shredder had been through and mutilated the trees and bushes on the north side of the road. Diggers are at work preparing the rafts for the new housing estate beyond the hedge. I could hardly believe that the development has reached as far as the boundary of the Black Brook channel. This is an area that floods regularly. But if it's 'affordable housing,' I suppose the developers won't care. I was just about able to reach some buds that hadn't already pollinated. I hope these bushes survive.

Today's photo is of just two sprigs of pussy willow in a narrow vase. The tallest item should point vertically to the sky. Basic arrangements call for two other items signifying mountain and ground, but I didn't have anything suitable. All the items must be arranged in a certain way and at a certain angle. As you might expect from Japanese art, the style is minimal and designed to promote serenity, zen.

Extra is of a branch of pine fixed with a kazan (a device for fixing stems with pins - much, much more effective than oasis), in a dish, with a world turtle for company. I had to trim the pine to the proper shape and cut out extraneous twigs.

Time to take Basil for a walk now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.