Velodrome

I haven't been to the centre of Derby for many years. Maybe this was the first time since I left work there in 1987. It has improved in that much of the centre is pedestrian friendly and looks cleaner. It hasn't improved in that it's still grim and many people walk around with that 'What you looking at me for?' expression.

There is real poverty. Look closely at the clothing.

By contrast, Sadler Gate appears to be mildly prosperous with kitsch shops and indie cafes. Sadler Gate also hosts a branch of the London Camera Exchange whither I had gone to buy a Fuji x-t20 as a backup camera. Same specs as the x-t2, but it's not waterproof, has only one SD card slot, no joystick for setting focus point, and possibly a tad slower to focus. I hope not too slow.

Why visit LCE before The Photography Show where punters are persuaded to part with their cash on discount offers for cameras? The new Fuji cameras are unlikely to be sold at knock down prices, plus, there may not be many, or any, in stock.

I did like the LCE. A comprehensive, thoughtful display of gear and knowledgeable staff. They also accept 2nd hand goods. I had a reasonable offer on my x-t1.

I'd driven to Derby in trepidation, not knowing the way to Park and Ride. There are a maze of roads leading towards the centre and at some point, I thought I was truly lost when, all of a sudden, a sign appeared to lead me in that direction. You have to guess your way in. The parking area is up by Derby Arena which houses the Velodrome (pictured), opposite the Rams football stadium. It gets a tad windy there.

I couldn't see the Park and Ride bus stop so went in as it's manned by Derby City Council. Bus stop just outside but not obvious. The leisure area is served by a rather nice cafe, Cafe 42. I earmarked that for my return as they allowed Basil in. Very relaxing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.