a diamond wedding but not as we know it, jim

Sarah and I set off from Tooting to Bromley at 8.30 this morning in heavy snow to help my brother prepare a family lunch to celebrate our parents' Diamond Wedding. It was lovely to see the snowy world rush by from the train windows.

My brother Andy is a driving instructor but he used to be a chef. He asked me to make a fruit salad and was very strict about my knife skills :-) Sarah was given the job of laying the table, making place settings and thinking up forfeits for after lunch fun..we made up hers which was to teach us all a simple yoga pose. You can see here the hilarity which resulted from everyone trying to balance in the Tree position...

We also all had to write a Diamond Wedding limerick, which was harder than it sounded. Here is mine:

On this day back in March '58,
Ian and Audrey had just sealed their fates.
Fast forward to now,
We're partying - Wow!
60 years and they're still the best mates.

Extra is my Mum and Dad with the beautiful cake made by my clever sister.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.