Another Market Day at Copacabana

We got up slightly later today but still early.
I had my coffee on the balcony and Neil prepared for work.
He left at about 9 am and I went for a walk to a nearby market.
It was in a peaceful residential setting around a square. Many fruit, vegetables, spices but also fish, meat, eggs and so on.
I was fed by the vendors with all kinds of fruit and ended up with far too much in my bag: 
Papaya, apples, a sweetsop, strawberries ….. no idea when I will be eating that, but I felt like buying at least something, although they did not really pressure me.
I also learnt that the cakes they were selling are made of tapioca, manioc or coconut … or all the three.
I also bought some lemon pepper and black pepper corns. The seller had also an amazing selection of chilies!
The guy was selling them by heaped table spoon. 1 tablespoon full for 4 reals.

I did two rounds over the market then had a rest in the park. It was full of dogs and their owners. Cariocas love their dogs!

I then walked back to the hotel to drop off my load and went out again to get a coffee at the Sofa Café.
It is just past Armazem and I felt even a bit guilty to visit the other place. Especially as Rodolfo waived to me when I passed by on the other side of the road even!

I got an excellent cup of coffee at Sofa Café and had another one of their speciality coffees, which was also very nice.
I will certainly back again here.
On the way back to the Hotel I did stop by at Rodolfo and had a quick espresso on top of the 2 coffees I already had.

I managed to get to the beach at 3pm only and relaxed in my chair under my umbrella.
Neil joined me sometime after 5 the the sun was already gone.

In the evening we went to the Japanese restaurant, Babi recommended. 
It was amazing!! Real Japanese home cooking. It was divine and cost in the end just 40 Pounds, although the place was on the pricier end.

Still feeling far away from the reality that is waiting for me at home. I guess this is a good thing. I cannot change anything anyways. But it also feels wrong!

I am blipping my market sellers, who were more than happy posing for me. They do love their "thumbs up" though!  (see extras)
Main Blip is the wee guy with chillies and spices! I got some lovely lemon pepper there.
All other three sellers were feeding me with all kinds of fruit while I was trying to learn the Portuguese words. It was funny. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.