The Christmas Snowman sees snow for the first time

...he is astonished and asks me if he can go out to play...

I say yes, but as soon as he sits in the deep snow he looks lost and wants to come back in.

I tell him to go and explore...

He wonders who it is who is reading a book on my bench. I tell the Christmas Snowman it is an angel who guards my cat Cleo who is sleeping an everlasting sleep under the bench in the ground below. The Christmas Snowman looks astonished.

The Christmas Snowman sits besides a sparrow who guards the hands holding the bird bath. I explain to the Christmas Snowman that the stone sparrow always keeps an eye open and warns any birds drinking of approaching cats, they might not have seen.

Looking up at the red dragon, the Christmas Snowman is a little fearful of this big creature. So, I tell the Christmas Snowman that it is a magic mother dragon who lays blue glass eggs, and one day when no one is looking the blue glass eggs hatch into baby dragons. The baby dragons are hidden in the undergrowth of my garden, and they have to wait for a very special full moon. When this very special full moon is high in the sky, the father dragon gathers up the baby dragons to say goodbye to their mother who sheds a crystal tear for each dragon child. Once each dragon child has their crystal tear, they now have the ability to fly. Father dragon is already circling the very special full moon above, and one by one each dragon child takes to the air with shrieks of delight. As they fly out of sight, mother dragon lays some more blue glass eggs and settles contentedly.

The Christmas Snowman’s eyes are wide with wonderment. Then he finds a one eyed stone cat and sits on his head. He wonders why I am sad. I tell him that John bought it me, but he crossed the rainbow bridge some years ago. I tell the Christmas Snowman that the cat had two bright blue eyes many years ago, but cold snowy winters caused one eye to fall out. The Christmas Snowman suggests maybe a blue glass dragon’s egg could be used as an eye. I tell him I don’t think mother dragon would be happy with that, but since my garden is a magic garden some magic might happen at that very special full moon and the stone cat will have two blue eyes once more.

I tell the Christmas Snowman he only has time for one more quick adventure before he comes in because I can see he is getting wet, and his changing lights are beginning to flicker off.

So off he charges to the fairy village which is covered in snow. I take a final photo of his outside adventure, and I get him indoors quickly because his changing lights have stopped.

I dry him out, dry out the battery compartment and batteries, and the Christmas Snowman is working again with his changing light colours. He goes through orange, red, purple, blue and green colours, and keeps changing the order of his colours. His favourite is purple, and my favourite colour is green.

The Christmas Snowman says his adventures were fantastic, but since he is an indoors Snowman he is glad to be in the warm again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.