More (unnecessary) snow

Just over three years ago, I was staying in Finland with my collaborator Gunilla. That week spring had just begun to show its face when it unexpectedly snowed overnight on the Friday. When I drew back the bedroom curtains on the Saturday morning I could not contain my excitement at the view of a snowy Nordic scene. Meanwhile my host Gunilla, who thought that she had seen the last of the snow in Finland that winter, exclaimed 'This is completely unnecessary!'

This morning in Edinburgh I understood Gunilla's frustration of three years ago. My blip shows the scene outside my bedroom window at about 7:00am. As more snow fell over the course of the day, I stayed indoors mainly blogging and baking.

The baking was in honour of Katharine and Jack , who visited for afternoon tea. Tea was served using an antique Crown Derby service that has passed down several generations of my family. It was first a wedding present for my great great Uncle Harry* and his wife Frances. They passed it on to their nephew 'young' Arthur (my first cousin twice removed) and his wife Jill on the occasion of their marriage. Arthur and Jill then gave it as a wedding present to my mother (Arthur's second cousin once removed) and father. Eventually it made its way to me.

The last time that I used this tea service was when my parents brought Arthur and Jill to visit me and Mr hazelh in Edinburgh in the late 1990s. This was a couple of years before Arthur died, aged 77, in 2002. I was inspired to get the tea service out today after Ridgeback13 served afternoon tea using family china on 4th March.

*We still have a Harry in the family.

Exercise today: post-surgery exercises.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.