Life in a Small Town

It was beautiful, if frigid, as I set off for an 8am class this morning. The teacher was a bit late as her brother had a seizure in the middle of the night and she had been in the emergency room since 2am. The classroom was even more frigid, but she soon had us warming up with planks and roll-ups on a foam roller.

By the time the class was over I was warm and in need of a coffee, so fellow classmate Bob  and I repaired to Acre for an excellent latte. Bob is a doctor, but somehow, we have managed to have many a coffee together without discussing medical issues. Perhaps that's because he's a psychiatrist. 

 I have somehow managed to get poison oak on my hands and my shins...I suspect Ozzie's lead has something to do with this peculiar outbreak, since I am pathologically careful not to go anywhere near the plant.  Ozzie, however, is not so scrupulous...probably because dogs don't seem to be sensitive to urushiol, the oil in poison oak which can wreak havoc with humans.

I got a very odd bank statement in the mail a few days ago. When I got around to opening it this morning I discovered that there was no activity indicated on my account last month. I called the bank but got tired of waiting for a 'delightful team member' to come on the line and drove to the bank which is only a few blocks away. There was nobody in the bank, a delightful Vice President took care of me in about five minutes and I was back in the car in six. 

With nothing much else to do, I decided to drive downtown and do a couple of errands there. There is an alley between a parking lot and 4th Street, which is as close to a main drag as this town can manage where I spotted this mural on the wall. There is very little explanation about who did it other than some kanji in the corner followed by the words Jeju City. This, it turns out, is Santa Rosa's sister city in Korea.

I'm sure I've passed by this mural dozens of times but now that I've noticed it, I'm really curious to know who painted it and what the many panels (I showed only one) depict. Google revealed absolutely no information about it,  but my curiosity is now piqued....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.