Spofforth Castle

I stopped off in Spofforth today on my way through to Harrogate. The ruined castle is easily accessible. I hadn’t realised before but the castle (manor house) is built on the natural rock outcrop…presumably less wall to build!

It has quite a history - reputedly where theMagna Carta was drawn up in 1215, destroyed in the War Of The Roses (1461), rebuilt in 1559 and then destroyed in the Civil War!

I went to visit the shop where I bought my walking boots a couple of years ago, as they have developed a horrible creak when I walk. The guys in the shop seem to think that the mid sole has come away inside and that they will need to be repaired. That looks like it is going to cost £66 plus postage there and back! Not covered by the warranty as it is ‘wear and tear'!

I was expecting to have them resoled at some point - but not quite so soon as there is quite a bit of tread left on them! I suppose I shouldn’t complain - they get used every day and we do between three and five miles - so probably a couple of thousand miles altogether!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.