Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Dredging

If we had waited until mid afternoon yesterday before setting off we would have been able to get home as the snow was starting to clear, but I wouldn't have wanted to set off on a four hour drive at that time of day so we had no regrets about staying in Devon for an extra night. This morning we had a walk round the village after breakfast where I spotted this dredger at work in the channel between Shaldon and Teignmouth. The Teign estuary is wide and stretches inland for about four miles as far as Newton Abbot, but where it joins the sea the mouth is very narrow, which leads to a very fast flow of water in and out as the tide rises and falls. This can lead to shifting of the sand banks and the dredger works to keep the navigation channel clear. The picture is a bit 'busy' with all the buildings behind but was the best I took on our walk.

Many thanks for all the comments, stars and hearts on my Blips over the last few days. Wi-fi was virtually non-existent at the B&B so I had to rely on my phone data to post to Blip and as I don't have a massive data allowance I wasn't able to spend much time replying or looking at Blip. Back home now after a good journey so things will be back to normal and I'll be searching around for something to blip again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.