Patrona

By patrona

To the Woods

"Who's woods these are I do not know
his house is in the valley though"
Robert Frost

Good example of the local woodland, a mixture of scrub oak and myrtle berry with loads of brambles. I always miss the season for picking as mentally I wait for late September, as in my childhood and here they fruit in August, even July sometimes.

These oaks (alzinas) are not deciduous as such they shed all year and at present are dropping acorns like mad, if they were my woods I would have a couple of porkers running about to clear the brambles and undergrowth but I suppose we would end up with some sort of monster cross between the Porc Sanglar (wild boar) and Gloucester Old Spot, a tusked digger with acne scars.

Very little other wildlife in the woods , a very occasionally glimpsed red squirrel, the odd green woodpecker, and no doubt smaller nocturnal mammals. The owl is heard but never seen, and the Pipistrellus bats are just about to hibernate.

Abundance of fungi, I must learn ,I am sure a valuable food source is lying untapped.

At the end of the path is a large grassy clearing where on summer nights it is pleasant to recline and enjoy the total absence of light pollution whilst observing the heavens (and probably risk Lymes Disease)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.